Allow me to begin by saying ‘I voted remain’. I believe the costs of our exit will affect me as a person and this, yes, does bother me. That being said, it’s not what I want to talk about.

broken-britain

Do I think both 16-18-year-olds and over 70s should’ve been allowed to vote? Yes. Do I think the outcome would have been different if the youngsters got a say? Yes. Do we live a democracy where majority rules? Yes.

This day of independence has left me feeling ashamed to be British. And not for the reasons you might expect. I have made my personal opinions completely clear. I voted remain and would again. I was scrolling through twitter this fine London evening and it made me feel ashamed. Oh, nothing against you twitter, I’ve nothing but love for you. However, the volume of disparaging and somewhat vicious comments I read, from both sides directed at the other left me utterly disturbed.

The ‘Remain’ voters, not all of them and I’m by no means generalising, were hitting out at the elderly. The 16 to 18 age category were not eligible to vote in this referendum and this has made many angry. A Not My Vote hashtag began trending with the voters voicing their outrage and disgust:
image

image

And the ‘Brexit’ voters, again no generalising, fired straight back…
image

image

Regardless of the facts, be they financial or political, this referendum has bisected Great Britain to such an extent that we should no longer be calling ourselves ‘United’. It’s sad to say, but we are very much divided. No longer united and no longer great. The world has lost a kingdom and gained an independent nation brimming with individuals who’d rather tear each other down than build each other up.

It is for this reason, and this reason only that Britain is broken and it is for this reason, on this day, that I am ashamed to be British.

Leave a Reply

